Heaven 17 - Did You Know?

Heaven 17 - Did You Know?November 17, 2018

Music facts, music trivia, interesting stories and much more. Introducing the "Did You Know" page about English new wave and synth-pop band, Heaven 17.




Heaven 17 are an English new wave and synth-pop band that formed in 1980 in Sheffield. They were a trio for most of their career, with Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh on keyboards and Glenn Gregory as the lead vocalist.

Heaven 17 were formed by former The Human League founder members Ian Craig Marsh and Martyn Ware. Glenn Gregory had been Human League's original choice when seeking a vocalist for the band, but he wasn't available at the time, so they chose Philip Oakey instead.

The band was named after the band in Anthony Burgess' novel and Stanley Kubrick's film A Clockwork Orange. The story line has fictional group Heaven Seventeen at #4 in the charts with the song "Inside."

Most of Heaven 17's music was recorded during the 1980s, but began playing their first ever live concerts in 1997. Ian Craig Marsh left Heaven 17 in 2007, but the band continues to perform with band members Martyn Ware and Glenn Gregory.

Compare ticket prices to Heaven 17 concerts


Subscribe via RSS: Subscribe via RSS
Back to TixSearcher.com's Blog

Quick ticket search

Our newsletter