INXS - Did You Know?

INXS - Did You Know?August 11, 2019

Music facts, music trivia, interesting stories and much more. Introducing the "Did You Know" page about Australian rock band, INXS.




INXS were an Australian rock band that was formed in 1977 as The Farriss Brothers in Sydney, New South Wales. The band consisted of Michael Hutchence (lead singer), Garry Gary Beers (bass)Andrew Farriss (keyboards)Jon Farriss (drums)Tim Farriss (guitar), and Kirk Pengilly (saxophone).

INXS achieved international success during the mid-to-late 1980s and early 1990s with their hit albums: Listen Like ThievesKick, and X, as well as their singles "What You Need", "Need You Tonight", "Devil Inside", "Never Tear Us Apart", "Suicide Blonde", "New Sensation" and others.

One known and successful song by INXS is "Never Tear Us Apart" that was written by Michael Hutchence. The song describes an instant connection between two people who formed a bond that will last forever.

"Never Tear Us Apart" was going to be used in the 2001 movie Donnie Darko, but because of budget constraints, the producers used the song "The Killing Moon" by Echo & the Bunnymen instead.

Michael Hutchence died in 1997. At his funeral service, his coffin was carried out by the remaining members of INXS and younger brother Rhett, as the song "Never Tear Us Apart" played in the background.

In 1987, 1989, and 1992, INXS won six Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) awards, including three for "Best Group," and in 2001, they were inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame in 2001.

Overall, INXS has sold an estimated 60 million records all over the world.


Subscribe via RSS: Subscribe via RSS
Back to's Blog

Quick ticket search

Our newsletter